Tajikistan Visa Policy

Familiarize yourself with Tajikistan visa regulations and discover visa requirements for your nationality.

Visa policy for Tajikistan

The visa policy of Tajikistan is the list of rules and regulations that decide which visas a foreign visitor needs to travel to the Central Asian country.

There are several different types of visas for Tajikistan. The type of visa a foreign citizen requires depends on several factors, including the applicant’s nationality, the purpose of travel, the number of entries, and the length of stay in the country.

All travelers to Tajikistan must obtain a visa from one of the Tajikistan diplomatic missions abroad, unless they come from countries whose citizens are eligible to apply for an electronic visa.

The Electronic Visa or eVisa for Tajikistan is available for the majority of foreign nationalities, and allows a short stay in the country for either tourism or business purposes.

Depending on the traveler’s nationality, a Tajikistan eVisa may be issued as either a single entry or multiple entry online visa that permits a total stay of 60 days in the country.

The electronic visa can be obtained by completing a simple online application form. Once approved, the eVisa can then be either picked up at the nearest Tajikistan embassy or is collected upon arrival at Dushanbe airport.

Tajikistan does not currently have any visa bans or entry bans in place against any foreign nationality.

Browse the information provided below to find out more about Tajikistan visa policy and the requirements for each nationality to visit the country.

Tourist Visa Policy for Tajikistan

According to the Tajikistan visa policy, foreign nationals arriving in the country for tourism purposes are either required to obtain an electronic visa or embassy visa in advance to do so.

In order to apply for any type of Tajikistan tourist visa, international travelers must have a passport valid for 6 months from the date of intended entry into the country.

More than 200 nationalities can apply for Tajikistan’s electronic visa online. It grants holders a stay in the country of up to 60 days for tourism, and may be issued as either a multiple entry or single entry online permit.

The eVisa system simplifies the application process to allow tourists to smoothly enter the country, eliminating the need to wait in border queues to submit a visa application to immigration authorities upon arrival.

An approved visa online can either be retrieved from the nearest diplomatic mission of Tajikistan or picked up on arrival at the main airport in the country, Dushanbe International.

Those not eligible to submit a tourist eVisa application must go to a Tajikistan embassy or consulate in person to apply for a travel document for tourism with a range of supporting documentation.

Learn more about the requirements for obtaining Tajikistan tourist visas for each nationality below.


The Tajikistan eVisa is an electronic visa that can be obtained by submitting a simple online form, expediting the process of passing through Tajikistan border control, and eliminating the need to wait in immigration queues to submit a visa application.

Citizens of roughly 200 different countries are eligible to apply for a Tajikistan electronic visa, which allows a business or tourist stay of up to 60 days.

Depending on nationality, an eVisa may be issued as either a single or multiple entry online visa. It is valid to enter the country for 90 days from the date of issue.

Eligible citizens can apply by completing the easy Tajikistan electronic visa application form, with basic personal information, passport data, and travel plans.

Additionally, the applicant must indicate the nearest Tajikistan embassy or consulate on the online form.

It may also be necessary to upload additional supporting documentation depending on the applicant’s nationality in order to submit the eVisa form.

Once approved, the eVisa may either be collected from the Tajikistan diplomatic mission indicated on the application form, or picked up on arrival at Dushanbe International Airport.

Please refer to the following list of nationalities that can apply for Tajikistan’s electronic visa

EVISA: Country list

Click on the links below to find out more about each country

GBAO Special Permit

GBAO stands for Gorno-Badakhshan Autonomous Region, an autonomous territory in the Pamir Mountains in Eastern Tajikistan which makes up 45% of the county’s land.

To travel to the GBAO, all foreign citizens are required to have an approved special permission for the region in addition to an approved Tajikistan visa.

A special permit for Gorno-Badakhshan can be applied for when completing an eVisa form, and, once issued, allows entry to Autonomous Region from the date specified on the approved visa.

Holders of an approved GBAO permit are allowed entry to all of the Gorno-Badakhshan Autonomous Region with the exception of the territory of Sarez Lake. An additional special permit is required to visit Lake Sarez.

Embassy or Consular Visa Required

Tajikistan visa laws state that foreign citizens who are not eligible to submit an electronic visa application online are required to complete the entire visa application process in person at the nearest Tajikistan government diplomatic office.

Like eVisa applicants, they may be able to complete and submit an application form online, but these foreign citizens are required to attend a Tajikistan embassy visa interview in person before a travel document can be approved.

This application method applies to over 40 nationalities no matter the purpose or intended duration of the stay, as well as to eVisa citizens who wish to visit Tajikistan for purposes other than business or tourism.

An embassy visa for Tajikistan may be issued for a variety of purposes, whether as a tourist visa, business visa, transit visa, student visa, work visa, or other visa option. It is necessary to indicate which is required when completing the application form.

The supporting documentation the applicant needs to bring to a consular interview also varies depending on the type of visa required, as does the period of validity granted.

It is also possible to extend a Tajikistan visa at the Consulate General of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Dushanbe once in the country. However, a tourist visa cannot be extended.

See below for a full list of countries required to apply for an embassy visa for Tajikistan.

Visa requirements checker

Select nationality

Related News

The coronavirus pandemic of 2019-2020 has had an immense impact on the entire world and may have changed the future of traveling forever. Many countries currently have entry restrictions in place and there is a new focus on health screenings and tests for individuals making their way from state to state. Traveling is discouraged by

Read More

The coronavirus pandemic has led to a large number of travel restrictions. Closed borders, canceled flights, and suspended visas have greatly limited global movement. Many people have been stranded in a foreign country, unable to return home. Individuals in this situation may be worried about what happens when their visa expires. Many governments have put

Read More

The last decade has seen the greatest degree of freedom of global movement in history. Since 2006, the average number of countries that a person can visit without applying for a visa in advance has nearly doubled. However, the coronavirus pandemic has led to mass cancellations of passenger flights, temporary visa suspensions, lockdowns, and closed

Read More