Saudi Arabia Visa Policy

Check the visa policy of Saudi Arabia and discover the requirements for your nationality to travel to the Kingdom.

Visa Policy for Saudi Arabia

The visa policy of Saudi Arabia is the set of laws, rules, and regulations which determine who may enter the country and the different types of visa or travel authorization they require.

Saudi Arabia currently grants visa exemption to its fellow members of the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC).

The electronic visa (eVisa) for Saudi Arabia is regarded as the simplest way for other travelers to get permission to visit the country for tourism and leisure.

You can apply for the Saudi Arabia eVisa by completing a quick online application form. There is no need to go all the way to an embassy, or even to leave your house.

The eVisa is available to citizens of around 50 countries and territories, including the United States (US), the United Kingdom (UK), Japan, and all European Union (EU) members.

A less convenient alternative is the visa on arrival for Saudi Arabia. This may be obtained at border control when entering the country.

However, this can involve a lengthy process of standing in line, filling out the application form, and waiting while immigration officials process the visa on arrival. For this reason, it is advisable to apply in advance for the eVisa.

Both the eVisa and visa on arrival permit the holder to stay in Saudi Arabia for up to 90 days.

Travelers from countries that are not eligible for an eVisa or visa on arrival must go to their nearest Saudi Arabian embassy or consulate and apply for a Saudi consular visa.

The same applies to any traveler who wants to stay in Saudi Arabia for more than 90 days or who plans to live, work, and/or study there.

Nationals of Israel are currently prohibited from entering Saudi Arabia.

There are special Hajj visas for travelers performing the important Islamic pilgrimage to Mecca. Hajj visas are available between Mid-Shawwal and 25th Dhual-Qa’dah.

Below you can find a comprehensive list of Saudi travel regulations for nationals of every country.

Tourist Visa Policy for Saudi Arabia

Tourists visiting Saudi Arabia must apply for a visa to enter.

The only exceptions are visitors from the other Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) member states.

Foreign nationals from around 50 sovereign states and countries may visit Saudi Arabia for purposes of tourism with an electronic visa (eVisa).

The eVisa for Saudi Arabia permits tourists to stay in the country for a maximum of 90 days. It is quick and easy to obtain by applying online before traveling to the kingdom.

Citizens of countries that are not eligible for the Saudi eVisa must apply for a traditional consular visa in order to visit for purposes of tourism. This can be obtained by applying at a Saudi diplomatic mission, such as an embassy or consulate.

To successfully receive a Saudi embassy visa, the applicant must provide a number of supporting documents, including a valid passport.

Below, you can find more information about the requirements for each nationality to enter Saudi Arabia as a tourist.

The Saudi Arabia eVisa

The electronic visa for Saudi Arabia or eVisa is an electronic visa that permits the holder to visit the country for the purpose of tourism.

Quick and easy to obtain, eligible travelers may apply via the internet. This means that you do not have to go all the way to an embassy in person to file visa paperwork; simply apply online from the comfort of your own home.

Foreign nationals from around 50 different countries and territories are eligible for the Saudi tourist visa online, including all EU member states, the USA, Canada, China, and the UK.

The eVisa for Saudi Arabia grants the holder a maximum stay of 90 days in the country, and is valid for 365 days from the date of issue

There is a convenient online application form for the Saudi eVisa, which takes a matter of minutes to complete.

Applicants must enter some personal details, such as full name and nationality, and their passport information (passport number, expiry date, etc.). They must also answer a few security-related questions before submitting the form.

Once completed, the online application is processed quickly, and rarely takes longer than a few days.

An approved Saudi tourist eVisa is electronically linked to the applicant’s passport. The passport must be valid for 6 months after the date of arrival in Saudi Arabia and must be presented at border control. The traveler is also advised to carry a printed copy of the approved eVisa or store a copy on their mobile device at the time of travel.

Applicants for the online tourist visa for Saudi Arabia are automatically granted a Mandatory Medical Insurance Policy linked to the approved eVisa. This is a compulsory requirement to visit Saudi Arabia.

Saudi eVisa holders who need to use their Medical Insurance in Saudi Arabia will have to present their Policy Number as well as contact their insurance company directly for any further information.

See the full list of eligible countries whose citizens can apply for the Saudi Arabia eVisa below.

The Saudi Arabia eVisa: Country list

Saudi eVisa Ports of Entry

It is necessary for holders of an approved Saudi tourist eVisa to enter the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia at one of several designated ports of entry.

The following airports and land checkpoints are valid for entry with an approved Saudi online visa as well as all seaports in the country:


  • King Khalid International Airport in Riyadh
  • King Abdulaziz International in Jeddah
  • King Fahd International Airport in Dammam
  • Prince Mohammed Bin Abdulaziz International in Medina


  • King Fahd Bridge (Bahrain – Saudi Arabia crossing)
  • Al Batha (Emirates – Saudi Arabia crossing)

Visa Not Required for Saudi Arabia

Currently, nationals of 5 sovereign states enjoy visa exemption for Saudi Arabia. All 5 countries are members of the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC), like Saudi Arabia itself.

The GCC consists of Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, and the United Arab Emirates (UAE).

Citizens of all GCC member states may visit Saudi Arabia without a visa as a benefit of GCC membership.

See below all the nationalities who enjoy visa exemption for visiting Saudi Arabia.

Visa Not Required for Saudi Arabia: Country list

  • Bahrain
  • Kuwait
  • Oman
  • United Arab Emirates

Visa Exemption for Saudi Arabia in Special Circumstances

As a rule, all foreign nationals apart from citizens of the 4 GCC countries mentioned above must have a valid visa to enter Saudi Arabia.

However, French diplomats and certain other officials may also visit Saudi Arabia visa-free, providing they do so with a diplomatic passport or a similar official passport.

Admission Refused to Saudi Arabia

Currently, Saudi Arabia’s visa policy prohibits nationals of Israel from visiting the country.

At the moment, there is a Saudi Arabia visa ban for nationals of Israel in place. Holders of Israeli passports are prohibited from entering Saudi Arabia due to the Arab League boycott of the Jewish state.

Admission Refused to Saudi Arabia: Country list

  • Israel

Exceptions for Qataris

Qatari Muslims may enter Saudi Arabia only if they are performing the Hajj pilgrimage.

Nationals of Qatar are periodically banned from entering the country. This has been the case since diplomatic relations were severed in 2017. Prior to this, Qataris could visit Saudi Arabia without a visa.

As an Islamic country, Saudi Arabia will allow Muslims with a Qatari passport to perform the Hajj at the appointed time of year (from the 8th to 12th of Dhu al-Hijjah, the last month of the Islamic calendar)

Visa requirements checker

Select nationality
Saudi Arabia