Russian E-visa Requirements for Turkey

Electronic Travel Authorization Available
See More Details

The Russian E-visa for Turkish passport holders is an online visa that permits travelers from Turkey to visit certain parts of the Russian Federation.

Turkish citizens can apply for the Russian E-visa in order to visit one of 3 regions within Russia for the purposes of tourism, humanitarian ventures, business trips, or for transiting through the country en route to another destination.

The Russian E-visa offers Turkish nationals the convenience of applying for a Russian visa to visit the country without having to visit a Russian embassy or consulate. It streamlines and expedites the process of obtaining a visa for Russia while providing a more efficient travel experience.

Requirements for Obtaining the Russian E-visa from Turkey

The Russian visa policy states that all foreign travelers who are not from visa exempt countries will need to obtain a Russian visa prior to arriving in the country. Over 50 nationalities, including Turkey, can access the easier option of applying for an E-visa online to visit certain regions of Russia.

There are some basic requirements that travelers from Turkey will need to meet before applying for the Russian E-visa. These requirements include:

  • A valid Turkish passport
  • Current email address to receive updates/notifications regarding the pending application
  • A recent passport-sized photograph of the traveler taken against a white background

The Turkish applicant’s passport must have at least two blank pages for entry and exit stamps. It should also continue to be valid for at least 6 months from the date the traveler from Turkey submits their online Russian E-visa application.

Turkish travelers should note that these requirements are the same irrespective of the type of Russian E-visa they are applying for.

Russian E-visas for Turkish Citizens

There are three types of Russian E-visas that each allow travelers from Turkey to visit a certain region of Russia. They are specific to their region, which means that visitors can only use them to enter that part of Russia. They cannot be used to travel to other parts of the country.

This also means that if Turkish nationals would like to visit other regions of Russia, they will need to apply for the Russian E-visa for that region as well.

The following 3 regions each have a Russian E-visa available to Turkish visitors, which can be obtained online:

  • St. Petersburg and Leningrad
  • Kaliningrad Oblast
  • The Russian Far-East Territories

The Russian Far-East E-visa covers the following regions:

  • Amur Region
  • Chukotka Autonomous Okrug
  • Kamchatka Krai
  • Khabarovsk Krai
  • Primorsky Krai
  • Republic of Buryatia
  • Sakhalin Oblast
  • Zabaykalsky Krai

Turkish travelers should also be aware that the Russian E-visas allow them entry into the country only through select seaports, airports, and land border checkpoints depending on the region they will be visiting within Russia.

The Russian E-visa is ideal for short-term visits to the Russian Federation. Travelers from Turkey who are interested in staying for longer durations or who require special visa considerations as regards to the purpose of their visit can apply for an appropriate Russian visa from a Russian embassy or consulate.

How to Apply for a Russian E-visa from Turkey

Turkish citizens can easily apply for the Russian E-visa by completing an online application and providing their personal and passport details.

Travelers from Turkey should ensure that they are including accurate information on the application form that matches the information shown on their passport in order to avoid processing delays. A mismatch between the information provided on the form and that shown on the traveler’s passport can cause delays or even visa denial in some cases.

After submitting a complete Russian E-visa application, Turkish travelers can expect to receive a decision on their E-visa application within 2-4 business days. It should be noted that national holidays and weekends, a high volume of applications, and errors on the form can also affect this time frame.

Turkish travelers who have been approved for a Russian E-visa will receive it securely via email. They will be required to take a printed copy of their E-visa with them when they travel to Russia to be presented upon arrival at the port of entry along with their other travel

How Long Can Turkish Travelers Stay in Russia?

The Russian E-visa for Turkish citizens is valid for up to 30 days from the date of issue and allows a single entry into Russia.

The maximum length of stay permitted in Russia is 8 days under the Russian E-visa beginning on the day the traveler arrives in the country.

Turkish travelers are free to move within the Russian region they are visiting with their E-visa, but must plan their departure so that it is no later than 11:59pm on the eighth day of their visit.

Application Steps

Complete online application
Confirm Payment
Receive approved Visa
Apply Online

Country policy

Russia Visa Policy


Check the visa policy of Russia and discover the travel requirements for your nationality.

Visa requirements checker

Russian Federation

Related News

  • A passport is the key to traveling abroad. However, some passports are considered to be “stronger” than others. The world’s most powerful passports are those that offer the greatest travel freedom. The strongest passports are those that allow the holder to enter the most countries easily, without extra entry requirements, such as visas. There are

    Read More
  • People who have more than one citizenship may also hold multiple passports. This raises a number of questions about taking a trip abroad. How does traveling with two passports work? Should dual citizens bring both passports? Which one should be shown at border control? Can you enter a country with one passport, but use the

    Read More
  • When traveling abroad, it is essential to have a valid passport. What many people do not realize is that many countries have rules about the passport expiration date. In many cases, visitors’ travel documents must continue to be valid for months after they plan to arrive at their destination. The most common requirement is a

    Read More
  • The EU Digital COVID Certificate (EUDCC) is now being issued by several European countries a month ahead of schedule. The electronic platform is set for an official launch on July 1, 2021. However, the EU Gateway — the technical system that verifies the certificates — is ready and went live on June 1. Already 9 EU

    Read More