US Implements Coronavirus Travel Ban for China

Post byOnlineVisa

US President Donald Trump has issued a new ban for travelers arriving in the United States from China, as a preventative measure against the ongoing coronavirus outbreak which originated in the Chinese province of Hubei.

The President announced that, as of the 2nd of February 2020, entry to the US has temporarily been suspended for non-US citizens or permanent residents physically present in China, excluding Hong Kong and Macau, during a 14-day period prior to seeking entry to the United States.

President Trump also declared that a 14-day quarantine requirement is being implemented for U.S citizens who have been present in China’s Hubei province within a period of 14 days before returning to the United States.

It has also been announced that the US embassy and all US consulates in China will be closed and visa services temporarily suspended as an extra preventative measure, although some emergency visa servcies for American citizens in China will remain available.

How the Coronavirus Ban Affects Travel from China To the US

Although US citizens in China are not prevented from returning home under the new travel ban, they may still be subject to the new quarantine measures upon arrival in the United States.

A 14-day quarantine will be mandatory for all US passport holders who have spent time in the Hubei province of China within 14 days prior to returning to the United States.

Nationals of the United States who have been present in other regions of China, other than Hong Kong or Macau, will also be monitored at certain entry points to the US, and may also be requested to self-administer quarantine measures at home.

Additionally, all inbound flights to the USA with passengers who have recently spent time in China have been redirected to a select number of airports in the United States, where measures have been implemented to process travelers who may have come into contact with coronavirus.

The US airports with coronavirus protocol are as follows:

  • Chicago O’Hare International Airport (ORD), Illinois
  • Dallas/Fort Worth International Airport (DFW) in Texas
  • Daniel K. Inouye International Airport (HNL), Hawaii
  • Detroit Metropolitan Airport (DTW) in Michigan
  • Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport (ATL), Georgia
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK), New York
  • Los Angeles International Airport (LAX) in California
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR), New Jersey
  • San Francisco International Airport (SFO), California
  • Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (SEA), Washington
  • Washington-Dulles International Airport (IAD), Virginia

Travelers Exempt from the US Coronavirus Ban

Although many travelers to the United States from China will subject to the new coronavirus ban, there are a few exceptions in addition to US citizens and Permanent Residents:

  • Air or sea crew members (holders of a C or D type US visa)
  • Those who hold a diplomatic visa (A or G visa type) or NATO visa
  • Individuals who have been invited to visit the United States by the US government
  • A spouse of a US Citizen or Permanent Resident
  • Parents or legal guardians of US citizens or permanent residents who are unmarried and under the age of 21
  • Children, foster children, or wards of United States citizens or permanent residents, or prospective adoptees
  • Any traveler deemed to not “pose a significant risk of introducing, transmitting, or spreading the virus, as determined by the CDC Director, or his designee”

Additionally, the US government has announced that the new measures will not affect an individual’s ability to apply for asylum in the United States, or obtain protection under the United Nations Convention Against Torture.

Further global visa information about how the coronavirus is affecting travel will be published on this website site once available.

Related News

  • Although many countries around the world continue to discourage nonessential travel due to restrictions related to the ongoing coronavirus pandemic, a number of international destinations are now open to tourists. Popular tourist destinations such as Iceland, Italy, Jamaica, and Spain already lifted travel restrictions for tourism during the month of June, and a number of

    Read More
  • The European Union (EU) has started to reopen its external borders to travelers from outside the bloc for the first time since March. From July 1, international travel will resume to certain third countries. Visitors from these 15 states will be able to visit Europe this summer. The decision was made after a vote by

    Read More
  • Various countries are reopening their borders this summer after months of travel bans and lockdowns due to coronavirus. The COVID-19 pandemic has dominated the headlines for much of 2020. Many countries around the world imposed border restrictions or even prohibited travel altogether. Governments in many regions imposed lockdowns, instructing people to remain in their homes

    Read More
  • As the world slowly recovers from the coronavirus pandemic, some countries are planning to lift the travel restrictions that have been imposed to control the spread of COVID-19 in time for summer. Other countries, meanwhile, will remain closed to foreign visitors. With many people around the world aching for a summer vacation after a difficult

    Read More