US Implements Coronavirus Travel Ban for China

| Post by


US President Donald Trump has issued a new ban for travelers arriving in the United States from China, as a preventative measure against the ongoing coronavirus outbreak which originated in the Chinese province of Hubei.

The President announced that, as of the 2nd of February 2020, entry to the US has temporarily been suspended for non-US citizens or permanent residents physically present in China, excluding Hong Kong and Macau, during a 14-day period prior to seeking entry to the United States.

President Trump also declared that a 14-day quarantine requirement is being implemented for U.S citizens who have been present in China’s Hubei province within a period of 14 days before returning to the United States.

It has also been announced that the US embassy and all US consulates in China will be closed and visa services temporarily suspended as an extra preventative measure, although some emergency visa servcies for American citizens in China will remain available.

US flag

How the Coronavirus Ban Affects Travel from China To the US

Although US citizens in China are not prevented from returning home under the new travel ban, they may still be subject to the new quarantine measures upon arrival in the United States.

A 14-day quarantine will be mandatory for all US passport holders who have spent time in the Hubei province of China within 14 days prior to returning to the United States.

Nationals of the United States who have been present in other regions of China, other than Hong Kong or Macau, will also be monitored at certain entry points to the US, and may also be requested to self-administer quarantine measures at home.

Additionally, all inbound flights to the USA with passengers who have recently spent time in China have been redirected to a select number of airports in the United States, where measures have been implemented to process travelers who may have come into contact with coronavirus.

The US airports with coronavirus protocol are as follows:

  • Chicago O’Hare International Airport (ORD), Illinois
  • Dallas/Fort Worth International Airport (DFW) in Texas
  • Daniel K. Inouye International Airport (HNL), Hawaii
  • Detroit Metropolitan Airport (DTW) in Michigan
  • Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport (ATL), Georgia
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK), New York
  • Los Angeles International Airport (LAX) in California
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR), New Jersey
  • San Francisco International Airport (SFO), California
  • Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (SEA), Washington
  • Washington-Dulles International Airport (IAD), Virginia

Travelers Exempt from the US Coronavirus Ban

Although many travelers to the United States from China will subject to the new coronavirus ban, there are a few exceptions in addition to US citizens and Permanent Residents:

  • Air or sea crew members (holders of a C or D type US visa)
  • Those who hold a diplomatic visa (A or G visa type) or NATO visa
  • Individuals who have been invited to visit the United States by the US government
  • A spouse of a US Citizen or Permanent Resident
  • Parents or legal guardians of US citizens or permanent residents who are unmarried and under the age of 21
  • Children, foster children, or wards of United States citizens or permanent residents, or prospective adoptees
  • Any traveler deemed to not “pose a significant risk of introducing, transmitting, or spreading the virus, as determined by the CDC Director, or his designee”

Additionally, the US government has announced that the new measures will not affect an individual’s ability to apply for asylum in the United States, or obtain protection under the United Nations Convention Against Torture.

Further global visa information about how the coronavirus is affecting travel will be published on this website site once available.

Related News

  • Coronavirus (COVID-19) could cause 50 million jobs to be lost worldwide, according to the World Travel and Tourism Council (WTTC). The pandemic currently sweeping the globe has led many countries to introduce travel restrictions and deterred millions of people from traveling. The travel industry has been hit hard by this and will continue to suffer

    Read More
  • The outbreak of the COVID-19 coronavirus has now been labeled an pandemic by the World Health Organization (WHO), and countries all around the world have begun implementing measures to help contain the spread of the virus. Depending on the country, the preventative measures against COVID-19 include travel restrictions, border closures, and the suspension of flights

    Read More
  • Nowadays, there are various different types of visas available for many countries. While traditional consular visas can be obtained from embassies, different sovereign states may offer eVisas, visas on arrival, electronic travel authorizations, or a selection of the above. While not everyone is eligible for every type of visa, some travelers may have a choice

    Read More