Ukraine Extends e-Visa to Nationals of Laos, Myanmar, and Thailand

| Post by


Ukrainian authorities have announced that starting from November 1 2020, citizens of 3 Southeast Asian countries will be able to apply online for a Ukraine electronic visa (e-Visa).

Until now, nationals of Thailand, Laos, and Myanmar (formerly known as Burma) have been ineligible for the Ukraine e-Visa. Instead, it was necessary to apply for a visa in-person at a Ukrainian embassy.

Now that they have been added to the e-Visa system, Thai, Lao, and Burmese passport holders will be able to obtain their visas to visit Ukraine online, taking advantage of the streamlined application process and avoiding the need to go to an embassy or consulate.

The Ukraine e-Visa for Citizens of Laos, Myanmar, and Thailand

The Ukraine e-Visa for citizens of Thailand, Laos, and Myanmar is a digital visa, which allows the holder to stay in Ukraine for a maximum of 30 days at a time.

There are options for a single-entry and double-entry Ukrainian e-Visa, which permit the Thai, Burmese, or Lao traveler to enter the country for the following purposes:

  • Tourism
  • Visiting family
  • Business
  • Medical treatment
  • Cultural, scientific, educational, or sports activities
  • Foreign media staff traveling on official duty

Advantages of the Ukraine e-Visa for Thai, Burmese, and Laotian Visitors

The Ukraine e-Visa has several new benefits for travelers from Thailand, Myanmar, and Laos.

The Ukrainian embassy in Thailand announced the following on social media: “From November 1, 2020, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Ukraine will start issuing Ukrainian electronic visas for citizens of Thailand, Myanmar and Laos under a new, modern and convenient procedure.”

The Ukraine e-Visa for citizens of Laos, Thailand, and Myanmar optimizes the process of applying for a visa. The online form is user-friendly and quick to complete.

Being able to apply online allows Lao, Thai, and Burmese nationals to apply from anywhere with an internet connection, including from the comfort of their own homes. It eliminates the need to go to a Ukrainian embassy or consulate, saving time, effort, and money.

Applying for a Ukraine e-Visa for Citizens of Myanmar, Thailand, and Laos

Following the change in Ukraine’s visa policy, obtaining an Ukraine e-Visa is now simple for Lao, Burmese, and Thai citizens. Travelers from these countries must register their details in a simple online application form.

Nationals of Thailand, Laos, and Myanmar must also upload digital (scanned) copies of the following documents:

  • Recent passport-style photo
  • Valid Thai, Lao, or Burmese passport
  • Proof of sufficient funds to cover the stay in Ukraine
  • Proof of the purpose of visit (e.g. invitation letter, hotel reservation booking, etc.)

It is also necessary to provide an email address to which the e-Visa for Ukraine will be delivered (in PDF format) and debit or credit card details to cover the processing fee.

The Ukraine e-Visa for Myanmar citizens, Thai citizens, or Lao citizens must be printed out and presented to a border control officer when entering the country, along with the passport registered in the online visa application.

Related News

  • Hong Kongers can now enjoy visa-free travel to South Korea with the K-ETA visa waiver once again. The Republic of Korea suspended its visa waiver program in April 2020. Hong Kong passport holders have been unable to enter the country without a visa for more than 2 years. From July 1, 2022, visa-free entry to

    Read More
  • The Moroccan government has announced it will launch an electronic visa for Morocco  on July 10, 2022. The online system will simplify the process of obtaining a Morocco visa for citizens of 49 countries. The e-visa for Morocco will be available through a simple online application platform managed by the Moroccan Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

    Read More
  • The US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) have removed the requirement to present a negative COVID-19 test result to gain entry to the United States.  From June 12, 2022, the new rule applies to all travelers arriving in the US from any foreign country, either by air or any another form of transportation.

    Read More
  • The Republic of Korea has taken several steps in easing its entry restrictions for international travelers. Airports are now operating at pre-pandemic levels as the country aims to encourage tourism for summer 2022. As of June 8, 2022, unvaccinated individuals no longer have to quarantine on arrival. Before this, only fully vaccinated passengers could avoid

    Read More
  • Japan has reopened its borders to foreign tourists for the first time since the start of the COVID-19 pandemic. The gradual reopening will start with small-scale test tours from a limited number of countries. In a controversial move, the number of visitors that can enter the country is currently capped at 50. These individuals will

    Read More