The Difference Between Types of Visa

| Post by


Nowadays, there are various different types of visas available for many countries. While traditional consular visas can be obtained from embassies, different sovereign states may offer eVisas, visas on arrival, electronic travel authorizations, or a selection of the above.

While not everyone is eligible for every type of visa, some travelers may have a choice of which type of visa to apply for.

Some countries even allow visitors of certain nationalities to enter without any type of visa. For example, Canadian and American citizens can travel freely between the United States and Canada as long as they have ID.

With the rise of digital technology, electronic visas and travel authorizations have been introduced by many countries and this trend is expected to continue growing.

Different types of physical visas

Historically, visas were issued by immigration officials to visitors arriving at the border. If the new arrival was granted permission to enter the country, the official would stamp the traveler’s passport.

Modern visas generally have to be applied for in advance, with the exception of visas on arrival.

Consular visas are issued by embassies belonging to the country that the visa grants entry to. These are physical documents that are needed to enter that particular sovereign state.

Consular visas vary in form between different states. They can be a sticker or a stamp in the traveler’s passport or a separate official document that must be presented at the border in order to enter the country.

The digital age of visas: eVisas and Electronic Travel Authorizations

Electronic visas (also known as eVisas or online visas) are modern digital visas that can be obtained by applying via the internet. Many countries have introduced eVisas for travelers of select nationalities to facilitate travel and improve security with the digitalization of data.

Online application forms for eVisas are typically straightforward and quick to complete and come with the distinct advantage of being able to apply from your own home, rather than having to travel to an embassy.

Some countries may require a confirmation slip to be printed and presented at the border, while others will have their eVisa systems electronically linked to the traveler’s ePassport, meaning that only the passport is required.

Electronic travel authorizations (eTAs) are similar to eVisas, but feature an even more simplified application process and usually remain valid for a period of years, allowing multiple visits, while eVisas are typically more limited. Examples of eTAs are the US ESTA, the Canadian eTA, and the upcoming ETIAS.

What is the difference between an eVisa and a Visa On Arrival?

The main difference between an eVisa and a visa on arrival (VOA) is that travelers can apply for an eVisa online before their journey, while VOAs can be obtained once they reach their destination.

A visa on arrival is a visa that can be applied for and obtained when the traveler lands at an airport in the destination country. A foreign visitor may be granted a VOA if they meet the following conditions:

  • Their nationality makes them eligible—many countries only offer VOAs to citizens of certain states
  • They have the relevant documentation on their person
  • They pay the fee
  • There is not any reason to deny them the visa, e.g. being on an international watchlist

If a traveler has the option of applying for either an eVisa or a VOA, it is advisable to choose the eVisa. The uncomfortable situation of traveling all the way to the country and then being refused the VOA because they have forgotten essential documents (or for any other reason) can be avoided by applying for the eVisa in advance.

Related News

  • The European Commission has revealed its plan to digitalize the Schengen visa. This will replace the mostly paper-based application system to obtain a visa for EU and Schengen countries currently in place. This means the Schengen visa will soon be available through a simplified online application process, similar to the European Travel Information and Authorization

    Read More
  • New Zealand has reopened its borders to international visitors from over 60 visa waiver countries. Arrivals must be fully vaccinated against COVID-19 and meet all other entry requirements. The move is step 4 of New Zealand’s 5-stage reopening plan. The policy aims to fully reopen the country’s borders by late 2022, after more than 2

    Read More
  • Hong Kong is set to reopen its borders to international visitors. The new entry rules will come into effect from May 1, 2022. Overseas travelers have been completely banned from Hong Kong for the last 2 years, with only Hong Kong citizens and residents able to enter. The Hong Kong government announced the easing of

    Read More
  • Singapore has seen a sharp rise in passenger traffic since reopening borders. The number of flights and arrivals have both increased as the country continues to roll back restrictions. Since the beginning of April, international travelers have been able to once again visit Singapore with an SG Arrival Card. The online application currently includes a

    Read More
  • The United States government has announced that the US ESTA will be mandatory for citizens of all Visa Waiver Program (VWP) countries entering the United States by land. This new policy will be introduced on May 2, 2022. From this date, visa-exempt travelers will still be able to enter the US by land without a

    Read More