South Korea Will Temporarily Waive Visa Application Fee for Indonesian Visitors

| Post by

The Republic of South Korea has decided to temporarily waive the visa application fee for citizens of Southeast Asian countries, among them, Indonesia. From October 1st until December 31st, Indonesian visitors will not be required to pay the visa fee to travel and enter South Korea.

The Jakarta Post reported, based on a statement, that the program was created in partnership with the ASEAN-Republic of Korea Commemorative Summit.

The program is set to grant ASEAN nationals with C-3 short-term visitor visas to South Korea. During the three months, applicants will not need to pay the admission fee of USD 40. However, applicants will still have to cover the USD 14 administration fee.

Indonesian visa applicants must submit their application at the Korea Visa Application Center in the Lotte Shopping Avenue Mall in Kuningan, situated in the south of Jakarta. Once approved, the C-3 visa will be valid for three consecutive months from the date of issue.


ASEAN-ROK Commemorative Summit and The Free Visa Program

Kim Chang-beom, South Korean Ambassador to Indonesia, said in a statement that he hoped the ASEAN – ROK Commemorative Summit and the free visa-program could provide Indonesian nationals with the possibility to travel to the country to enjoy its natural beauty and culture.

The 2019 ASEAN-ROK Commemorative Summit will take place in Busan from November 25th to the 26th to celebrate the ASEAN-ROK Dialogue Partnership 30th anniversary, which was established in 1989. Additionally, the 1st Mekong-ROK Summit is scheduled for November 27th.

During the summit, there will be ten thousands of participants from ROK and ASEAN countries. The summit is also the embodiment of new southern policy as it promotes the cooperation with ASEAN countries in the areas of people, prosperity, and peace.

Further Visa Changes in South Korea

South Korea is also planning on introducing an electronic visa to encourage foreign visitors to travel to the country. The online visa for Korea would allow eligible travelers to apply for a visa through an online form. The applicant would have to provide their personal details and passport information. Nationals of EU member countries, the United States, and Japan can currently travel to South Korea for stays of up to 90 days without a visa.

Most foreign visitors that travel to South Korea come from China, Taiwan, Hong Kong, and Japan. Seoul is the main tourist destination for visitors. Currently, the tourism industry in the country is supported by domestic tourism. However, the electronic visa could contribute to the growth of international tourism.

Related News

  • After a 5-month preparation period, the South Korean government has confirmed that it will begin a trial of the K-ETA from May 3rd, 2021 before fully rolling out the Electronic Travel Authorization from September. The ETA for South Korea is being implemented for all South Korean visa-exempt nationalities in order to pre-screen visa waiver visitors

    Read More
  • The Ministry of Justice of South Korea has announced the upcoming launch of an Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) for select foreign nationalities following a revision of the South Korean visa policy. On the 9th of January 2019, the South Korean National Assembly passed a revision of the Immigration Law that will permit the introduction of

    Read More
  • The Justice Ministry of South Korea has announced a revised visa policy that will allow foreign workers to obtain an electronic visa through a simplified online application. The new policy came into effect on November 18th and is primarily aimed towards foreign workers who wish to work in the parts, materials, and equipment industries in

    Read More