Singapore Opens to Travelers from 8 More Countries

| Post by


Singapore continues to reopen to international travel, with passengers from 8 countries now able to enter the city-state without quarantine.

The country opened travel lanes with Brunei and Germany in September. From Tuesday, October 19, 2021, travel is now possible from Canada, the US, and 6 European nations.

Tourists from these countries are now able to visit Singapore for the first time in 19 months.

3,000 travelers per day will be allowed to enter the island nation from these countries, under the travel lane schemes. This is expected to increase over time.

Passengers must be fully vaccinated against COVID-19 to take advantage of the travel lanes and avoid quarantine regulations once in Singapore. Travelers must also complete the usual travel steps, such as completing the electronic SG Arrival Card.

This move marks a big step for the island country in reopening its borders as it scales back its anti-COVID measures. An 11th travel lane will be opened with South Korea from November 15, 2021.

It is expected that more countries will be added to the list over time, enabling more people from around the world to visit Singapore.

Who Can Travel to Singapore Now?

Fully vaccinated passengers arriving from 10 different countries can currently travel to Singapore without having to undergo quarantine.

They must have stayed for 14 days in one of these approved countries before arriving in Singapore.

Travel was first reopened to individuals arriving from Brunei and Germany in September 2021.

From October 19, 2021, 8 more countries were added to the list.

At present, quarantine-free travel to Singapore is possible from any of the following places:

  • Brunei
  • Canada
  • Denmark
  • France
  • Germany
  • Italy
  • The Netherlands
  • Spain
  • The UK
  • The US

From November 15, 2021, the following countries will be added to the list:

  • South Korea

Vaccinated travel lane flights operate from various airports, including the following:

  • Amsterdam (AMS)
  • Barcelona (BCN)
  • Copenhagen (CPH)
  • London (LHR)
  • Los Angeles (LAX)
  • Milan (MXP)
  • New York (JFK)
  • Paris (CDG)
  • Seoul (ICN)
  • Rome (FCO)

What do travelers need to enter Singapore without quarantine?

Passengers arriving from the countries listed above via the travel lanes must meet certain criteria to gain entry to Singapore without having to quarantine.

This includes the usual entry requirements laid out in Singapore’s visa policy.

Travelers must:

  • Be fully vaccinated against COVID-19
  • Test negative for COVID-19 before setting off (PCR)
  • Complete the SG Arrival Card
  • Have a valid Singapore visa (if applicable)
  • Have health insurance
  • Take another test on arrival (PCR)

Singapore’s Plans for Reopening Travel

Singapore is taking a carefully planned-out approach to reopening its borders to international travel. Although authorities in Singapore are keen to restart the economy — particularly the travel and tourism sectors — the country is not throwing its doors wide open just yet.

It is slowly opening up travel lanes with different countries. Travel is currently only possible from these select few locations and only fully vaccinated passengers can take advantage of the travel lanes.

However, Singapore has taken the first steps in reopening its borders and is already planning to further de-escalate its COVID-19 travel restrictions.

With lanes already open with 10 countries and South Korea next on the agenda, it seems that the plan to reopen to foreign visitors is well underway.

The COVID-19 situation in Singapore and the way forward

The island nation took strict measures to contain the outbreak of coronavirus. Lockdowns and travel bans have been in place throughout much of the COVID-19 pandemic. Those who were permitted to enter faced quarantine.

Now, over 80% of Singapore’s population is vaccinated against the virus.

Authorities in the country are keen to revive the economy. Given that Singapore is an international flight hub, the need to reopen travel is clear.

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong announced a number of measures on October 9, as the country moved into its new “Living with Covid-19” strategy.

“Singapore cannot stay locked down and closed off indefinitely,” he said.

However, he also stated the need to proceed with caution when opening the borders, indicating that it would be a step-by-step process.

“We must continue to re-open our borders safely,” Lee said. “Companies and investors need to carry out regional and global business from Singapore. People working for them need to travel to earn a living.”

Related News

  • The European Commission has revealed its plan to digitalize the Schengen visa. This will replace the mostly paper-based application system to obtain a visa for EU and Schengen countries currently in place. This means the Schengen visa will soon be available through a simplified online application process, similar to the European Travel Information and Authorization

    Read More
  • New Zealand has reopened its borders to international visitors from over 60 visa waiver countries. Arrivals must be fully vaccinated against COVID-19 and meet all other entry requirements. The move is step 4 of New Zealand’s 5-stage reopening plan. The policy aims to fully reopen the country’s borders by late 2022, after more than 2

    Read More
  • Hong Kong is set to reopen its borders to international visitors. The new entry rules will come into effect from May 1, 2022. Overseas travelers have been completely banned from Hong Kong for the last 2 years, with only Hong Kong citizens and residents able to enter. The Hong Kong government announced the easing of

    Read More
  • Singapore has seen a sharp rise in passenger traffic since reopening borders. The number of flights and arrivals have both increased as the country continues to roll back restrictions. Since the beginning of April, international travelers have been able to once again visit Singapore with an SG Arrival Card. The online application currently includes a

    Read More
  • The United States government has announced that the US ESTA will be mandatory for citizens of all Visa Waiver Program (VWP) countries entering the United States by land. This new policy will be introduced on May 2, 2022. From this date, visa-exempt travelers will still be able to enter the US by land without a

    Read More