New Russian eVisa Scheme for Kaliningrad Region

| Post by


For up-to-date information about the Russia-wide online visa launched by the Russian government in 2021, please see our main Russia E-visa page.

As of July 1, 2019, the Russian Government has chosen to introduce a new eVisa scheme for the Kaliningrad region, similar to that of the Far East Russian eVisa that exists at present. Citizens of 53 countries will be eligible for the Kaliningrad online visa. 

Kaliningrad is a region of Russia located between Poland and Lithuania with a small coastline along the Baltic Sea. The Russian eVisa for Kaliningrad is expected to boost tourism and facilitate the visa process for eligible citizens. Those eligible will not be required to visit an embassy or consulate and instead will simply be required to apply for a visa online.

Kaliningrad eVisa Information

The Russian Government has specified that the eVisa will be issued for single-entry use only and will permit eVisa holders a stay of up to 8 days. Once received, the eVisa should be used within 30 days from the date of issue. Hence, travelers are recommended to apply approximately 20 days before the trip. The visa takes approximately 4 working days to process.

The visa will be available to visitors traveling for tourism purposes, as well as business, sporting, scientific, technological, and cultural purposes.

Kaliningrad eVisa Application Process

The procedure for applying for a Kaliningrad eVisa involves filling out the online application form and submitting the necessary documentation and information. Those applying should first check that they are eligible for the visa (see list below) and also double-check the visa requirements in order to prepare for the visa application.

Usually, applying for a visa at a Russian embassy in advance requires applicants to provide several documents, as well as an invitation letter. However, those who wish to visit the Kaliningrad region of Russia only will now be able to apply for a visa without going through this lengthier process. Visa applicants will be able to apply online and will receive their visa within approximately 4 working days. 

Furthermore, applicants will be able to use the visa to enter via both Kaliningrad’s airport and land borders, as well.

While the Far East Russia Visa is only available to 18 countries, the Kaliningrad eVisa has been made available to up to 53 different nationalities. The introduction of the Kaliningrad eVisa comes as changes begin to be implemented with regards to Russia’s visa system and modernizing the process for foreigners who wish to visit the country.

List of Eligible Countries for the Kaliningrad eVisa

Before applying for a Kaliningrad eVisa, it will be necessary to verify that you are able to apply. Specific nationalities have been granted access to the online visa application system and applicants must come from 1 of 53 listed eligible countries in order to apply for the eVIsa.

The following 53 countries listed below are those eligible for the Kaliningrad eVisa:

  • Andorra
  • Austria
  • Bahrain
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • China (including Macau, Hong-Kong and Taiwan)
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Iran
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Kuwait
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malaysia
  • Malta
  • Mexico
  • Monaco
  • Netherlands
  • Northern Macedonia
  • Norway
  • Oman
  • Philippines
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Qatar
  • Romania
  • San Marino
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Serbia
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Democratic People’s Republic of Korea
  • Turkey
  • Vatican

Visit Kaliningrad with an Online Visa

Kaliningrad is an intriguing part of Russia with its own history consisting of Teutonic knights, the Soviet Union, and the Third Reich. There are various tours that intrigue tourists on their holidays and enable visitors to grasp a deeper understanding of its past and present. It is also a common visiting spot for those doing an Eastern European tour in nearby Poland or Lithuania.

The implementation of the Kaliningrad eVisa will enable tourists to explore Kaliningrad’s remarkable sights for up to 8 days and without applying at an embassy. However, please note that it will only allow visa holders to visit Kaliningrad and does not provide entry to other parts of Russia. 

For more global visa information, visit our website for up-to-date news on the Russia eVisa, as well as other visa news worldwide.

Related News

  • The European Commission has revealed its plan to digitalize the Schengen visa. This will replace the mostly paper-based application system to obtain a visa for EU and Schengen countries currently in place. This means the Schengen visa will soon be available through a simplified online application process, similar to the European Travel Information and Authorization

    Read More
  • New Zealand has reopened its borders to international visitors from over 60 visa waiver countries. Arrivals must be fully vaccinated against COVID-19 and meet all other entry requirements. The move is step 4 of New Zealand’s 5-stage reopening plan. The policy aims to fully reopen the country’s borders by late 2022, after more than 2

    Read More
  • Hong Kong is set to reopen its borders to international visitors. The new entry rules will come into effect from May 1, 2022. Overseas travelers have been completely banned from Hong Kong for the last 2 years, with only Hong Kong citizens and residents able to enter. The Hong Kong government announced the easing of

    Read More
  • Singapore has seen a sharp rise in passenger traffic since reopening borders. The number of flights and arrivals have both increased as the country continues to roll back restrictions. Since the beginning of April, international travelers have been able to once again visit Singapore with an SG Arrival Card. The online application currently includes a

    Read More
  • The United States government has announced that the US ESTA will be mandatory for citizens of all Visa Waiver Program (VWP) countries entering the United States by land. This new policy will be introduced on May 2, 2022. From this date, visa-exempt travelers will still be able to enter the US by land without a

    Read More