Kenya and South Sudan Sign Free Visa Travel Agreement

| Post by


Kenya and South Sudan have recently reached an agreement for free visa travel for citizens of the neighboring countries, an official from South Sudan has confirmed.

Mawien Mako, an Ambassador at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, said that a deal was reached in early September and that visa fees will be lifted from October. The agreement was signed by the ministers of the interior of both Kenya and South Sudan.

The announcement follows comments previously made by the president of the Republic of Kenya, Uhuru Kenyatta, in which he promised visa-free access to Kenya for Ugandan nationals, as well as citizens of all East African Community (EAC) countries. The EAC was founded in 1967 to promote co-operation between East African nations and is composed of Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, Tanzania, and Uganda.

Kenyatta also previously said he didn’t expect reciprocity in his intention to grant visa-free status, but it now appears that Kenya and South Sudan have come to an agreement to lift mutual visa fees.

Countries Able to Travel to Kenya Visa-free

The new agreement means that travelers from South Sudan will join the citizens of 43 countries who are able to visit Kenya without paying for a visa, including a number of other African nations such as Sudan, Uganda, and Tanzania.

Citizens of South Africa and Malaysia are visa-exempt for Kenya for stays of up to 30 days, while the majority of visa-free travelers to Kenya are able to visit the country for up to 90 days without obtaining travel authorization. Ugandan and Rwandan citizens are able to travel to Kenya without a passport, as they are able to use a national identification card to gain access to the country.

All other foreign travelers who wish to visit Kenya are required to obtain a visa to visit the country. A number of foreign nationalities are able to obtain an electronic visa for Kenya through an online application up to 7 days before traveling to the country. The eVisa for Kenya allows its holders to spend a total of 90 days in the country. The Kenya visa on arrival available to select foreign nationals also permits a maximum stay of 90 days.

Citizens of an additional 14 countries are able to obtain a visa for Kenya by submitting an application to a Kenyan embassy or consulate in their country of residence.

Visa Requirements for South Sudan

The new travel arrangement also means that Kenya has become one of the few countries whose citizens are able to travel to South Sudan with a free visa. The majority of foreign visitors to the land-locked African county are required to obtain a visa from an embassy or consulate of South Sudan before traveling, with the exception of a small number of nationalities who are able to obtain a Sudanese visa on arrival.

The only travelers who are able to get a visa on arrival for South Sudan at border entry checkpoints are citizens of a few countries in south-west Africa: Botswana, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania, and Uganda.

Following the new deal, Citizens of Kenya are now able to obtain a visa on arrival without paying visa fees. Likewise, South Sudan nationals are now able to cross the border into Kenya without being expected to first pay for a travel document.

Check visa requirements for Kenya and South Sudan, as well as for every other country in the world, at

Related News

  • The Moroccan government has announced it will launch an electronic visa for Morocco  on July 10, 2022. The online system will simplify the process of obtaining a Morocco visa for citizens of 49 countries. The e-visa for Morocco will be available through a simple online application platform managed by the Moroccan Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

    Read More
  • The US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) have removed the requirement to present a negative COVID-19 test result to gain entry to the United States.  From June 12, 2022, the new rule applies to all travelers arriving in the US from any foreign country, either by air or any another form of transportation.

    Read More
  • The Republic of Korea has taken several steps in easing its entry restrictions for international travelers. Airports are now operating at pre-pandemic levels as the country aims to encourage tourism for summer 2022. As of June 8, 2022, unvaccinated individuals no longer have to quarantine on arrival. Before this, only fully vaccinated passengers could avoid

    Read More
  • Japan has reopened its borders to foreign tourists for the first time since the start of the COVID-19 pandemic. The gradual reopening will start with small-scale test tours from a limited number of countries. In a controversial move, the number of visitors that can enter the country is currently capped at 50. These individuals will

    Read More
  • The European Commission has revealed its plan to digitalize the Schengen visa. This will replace the mostly paper-based application system to obtain a visa for EU and Schengen countries currently in place. This means the Schengen visa will soon be available through a simplified online application process, similar to the European Travel Information and Authorization

    Read More