Egypt Opens eVisa to 28 More Nationalities

| Post by


Egypt has expanded the list of nationalities who can obtain a visa online. This is part of a push to revitalize the tourism industry in the country by making it easier for more people to get authorization to visit.

Egypt’s electronic visa (e-Visa) was previously available to citizens of 46 different countries around the world.

Now, travelers with passports issued by 28 more countries can use the digital system to apply. This brings the total number of eligible nationalities to 74.

According to Ghada Shalaby, the Deputy Minister of Tourism and Antiquities, this move will help to encourage many tourists of different nationalities to visit Egypt.

The country launched its e-Visa platform at the end of 2017. Since then, it has provided a convenient way for foreign nationals to apply for an Egyptian travel permit.

Applications can be made in various different languages, with support available for inquiries.

Travel to Egypt Made Easier for More People With the e-Visa

The big advantage of being able to obtain a visa for Egypt online is that it is much quicker and easier than the alternative.

Visitors with eligible passports can apply from the comfort of their own homes, offices, or any other location with an internet connection.

Travelers simply enter their details into an online form. It takes mere minutes to complete and submit the necessary information. Then, the application is processed and the approved visa is received within a week.

Until recently, passport holders from 46 countries were able to use the online system to get their Egypt visas. Now, that figure stands at 74. The new 28 nationalities are:

  • Argentina
  • Armenia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bahrain
  • Belarus
  • Bolivia
  • Brazil
  • Chile
  • China
  • Colombia
  • Ecuador
  • Georgia
  • Hong Kong
  • India
  • Kuwait
  • Malaysia
  • Mexico
  • Oman
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Qatar
  • San Marino
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Singapore
  • Taiwan
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela

Travelers of other nationalities were required to apply for their visas at an Egyptian embassy or consulate instead. As well as potentially having to travel a distance just to apply, the process of obtaining a visa from a diplomatic mission is generally longer than the online platform.

Citizens of the 28 newly-added countries can now enjoy the benefits of the e-Visa system, with applications being faster and more convenient than ever before.

A Boost for Egypt’s Tourism Industry?

Deputy Minister of Tourism and Antiquities Ghada Shalaby announced that the latest countries added to the e-Visa list are expected to have a positive impact on tourism figures in Egypt.

Like many places in the world, travel to Egypt has been severely impacted by the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic. The country’s tourism industry has taken a hit and now the government is taking measures to boost the number of visitors from summer 2021.

The news that passports issued by 28 more countries are now eligible for the e-Visa comes around the anniversary of Egypt reopening airports on 1 July 2020. Borders had been closed from March of that year, but by July, the government was attempting to bring tourists back.

However, tourism has still not recovered over the past 12 months. It is hoped that expanding the online visa to these 28 nations will help the situation.

Tour groups are currently allowed to visit 3 Egyptian governorates that have not been affected too badly by COVID-19:

  • The Red Sea
  • Marsa Matrouh
  • South Sinai

Travelers arriving in Egypt are still subject to some coronavirus restrictions. For example, they will need one of the following as proof that they are safe to travel:

  • Negative PCR test
  • Vaccination certificate (showing that they have been fully vaccinated against COVID)

Despite these rules, the official line is that Egypt is open to visitors. With more travelers now able to get their tourist visa online, summer 2021 may prove to provide a much-needed boost to the country’s tourism sector.

Related News

  • Japan has reopened its borders to foreign tourists for the first time since the start of the COVID-19 pandemic. The gradual reopening will start with small-scale test tours from a limited number of countries. In a controversial move, the number of visitors that can enter the country is currently capped at 50. These individuals will

    Read More
  • The European Commission has revealed its plan to digitalize the Schengen visa. This will replace the mostly paper-based application system to obtain a visa for EU and Schengen countries currently in place. This means the Schengen visa will soon be available through a simplified online application process, similar to the European Travel Information and Authorization

    Read More
  • New Zealand has reopened its borders to international visitors from over 60 visa waiver countries. Arrivals must be fully vaccinated against COVID-19 and meet all other entry requirements. The move is step 4 of New Zealand’s 5-stage reopening plan. The policy aims to fully reopen the country’s borders by late 2022, after more than 2

    Read More
  • Hong Kong is set to reopen its borders to international visitors. The new entry rules will come into effect from May 1, 2022. Overseas travelers have been completely banned from Hong Kong for the last 2 years, with only Hong Kong citizens and residents able to enter. The Hong Kong government announced the easing of

    Read More
  • Singapore has seen a sharp rise in passenger traffic since reopening borders. The number of flights and arrivals have both increased as the country continues to roll back restrictions. Since the beginning of April, international travelers have been able to once again visit Singapore with an SG Arrival Card. The online application currently includes a

    Read More