Croatia to Join US Visa Waiver Program

| Post by


Victoria J. Taylor, the US Ambassador in Zagreb, has confirmed that Croatians will soon be granted visa-free travel to the United States after the country met a key condition to join the Visa Waiver Program for the USA.

Foreign citizens included in the US Visa Waiver Program are able to travel to the United States for purposes of tourism and business for stays of up to 90 days without a visa with each entry.

In order to gain visa-free entry to the USA, citizens of Croatia will simply be required to submit an application for a US ESTA, an electronic travel authorization which, once approved, allows multiple entries to the United States during its 2-year validity.

Croatia Meets Key Requirement for US Visa-Free Travel

While all counties in the European Schengen Area are already part of the visa waiver scheme, new European Union countries such as Croatia, Cyprus, Bulgaria, and Romania still had to meet some mandatory criteria in order to qualify.

However, Taylor has confirmed that Croatia has now met a key stipulation to gain visa-free entry: the need for the rejection rate for US tourist and business visa applications from Croatian citizens to fall below 3%.

Croatia has been working to reduce their refusal rate from roughly 5.9% over the past 3 years, and finally managed to achieve a rejection rate of around 2.69% in September 2020, meaning that it now qualifies for the visa waiver program.

Croatian Visa Exemption for US within the Coming Year

In a tweet issued on February 16th, 2021, Taylor thanked the Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs of the Republic of Croatia, the Ministry of Interior Affairs of the Republic of Croatia and the Croatian government for the “substantive progress on key Visa Waiver Program (VWP) requirements, from data sharing to border security.”

However, Taylor clarified that while “Croatia already complies with many of the security requirements for the VWP”, some additional requirements still need to be met in order for Croatians to be granted visa exemption for the United States.

Nevertheless, she affirmed that “Croatia has committed to completing the remaining requirements in the coming year” and that updates would soon be announced as additional progress was made.

While a specific date for the implementation of US visa-free travel for citizens of Croatia has not yet been announced, Taylor states that “the United States remains focused on working with Croatian government partners to meet all remaining security requirements” and that “the teamwork continues”.

Related News

  • The European Commission has revealed its plan to digitalize the Schengen visa. This will replace the mostly paper-based application system to obtain a visa for EU and Schengen countries currently in place. This means the Schengen visa will soon be available through a simplified online application process, similar to the European Travel Information and Authorization

    Read More
  • New Zealand has reopened its borders to international visitors from over 60 visa waiver countries. Arrivals must be fully vaccinated against COVID-19 and meet all other entry requirements. The move is step 4 of New Zealand’s 5-stage reopening plan. The policy aims to fully reopen the country’s borders by late 2022, after more than 2

    Read More
  • Hong Kong is set to reopen its borders to international visitors. The new entry rules will come into effect from May 1, 2022. Overseas travelers have been completely banned from Hong Kong for the last 2 years, with only Hong Kong citizens and residents able to enter. The Hong Kong government announced the easing of

    Read More
  • Singapore has seen a sharp rise in passenger traffic since reopening borders. The number of flights and arrivals have both increased as the country continues to roll back restrictions. Since the beginning of April, international travelers have been able to once again visit Singapore with an SG Arrival Card. The online application currently includes a

    Read More
  • The United States government has announced that the US ESTA will be mandatory for citizens of all Visa Waiver Program (VWP) countries entering the United States by land. This new policy will be introduced on May 2, 2022. From this date, visa-exempt travelers will still be able to enter the US by land without a

    Read More