Algeria Visa Online for Tourism Announced by Governement

| Post by


The government of Algeria has announced plans to introduce a new electronic visa to expedite the process of obtaining travel authorization for the country.

Prime Minister Abdelaziz Djerad announced the new visa policy in front of the National People’s Assembly on February 12th, 2020, stressing his hope that an e-visa for Algeria would help to facilitate the entry of foreign tourists and business investors.

The e-visa announcement accompanied Dejerad’s presentation of an action plan outlining new measures to promote tourism in Algeria, dubbed ‘Destination Algeria’, which also involves launching a promotional campaign through various travel agencies.

The government action plan also states that the Algerian diplomatic and consular network will take responsibility for attracting foreign investment, and promoting Algeria as a tourist destination, in which the promise of an upcoming Algeria e-visa would play a big part.

Algeria has so far bypassed the large numbers of tourist arrivals experienced by other neighboring North African countries, largely because tourism did not figure in the country’s development plans. However, this is now due to change with the new government action plan and e-visa initiative.

The Algerian online visa will allow tourists to easily visit some of the many significant historical and cultural attractions in the country for the first time, including the Casbah of Algiers, Fort Santa Cruz in Oran, and the ancient Roman-Berber ruins of Timgad.

Although no set date has yet been announced for the implementation of the Algeria e-Visa, it is expected to be introduced in the very near future.

Changes to Algerian Visa Application Procedures

The upcoming visa online will replace the current system for visa applications in Algeria, which has long been considered to be unnecessarily complex and an obstacle to tourism sector development in the country.

All visitors to Algeria should check visa requirements for the country before planning their trip. At the moment, the majority of foreign citizens are required to obtain an Algerian visa in person from an embassy or consulate.

There are only 7 visa-exempt countries for Algeria, citizens of the following North and West African countries:

  • Libya
  • Malaysia
  • Mali
  • Mauritania
  • Morocco
  • Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic
  • Seychelles
  • Tunisia

Nationals of these countries, as well as resident refugees and stateless persons, are able to enter Algeria for a stay of up to 90 days for either tourism or business.

All other foreign citizens are currently required to apply for a visa from an Algerian embassy or consulate in their country of residence, supplying supporting documentation including a passport valid for 6 months from the date of entry into Algeria.

It is also necessary to present confirmation of a hotel booking or a certificate from an Algerian travel agency, as well as proof of travel insurance to cover the stay.

In order to obtain an Algerian tourist visa valid for 90 days, it is currently necessary to submit an embassy application well in advance, as it can take up to 2 weeks to receive visa approval. This process is expected to be significantly simplified once the online Algeria visa application is introduced.

Related News

  • The European Commission has revealed its plan to digitalize the Schengen visa. This will replace the mostly paper-based application system to obtain a visa for EU and Schengen countries currently in place. This means the Schengen visa will soon be available through a simplified online application process, similar to the European Travel Information and Authorization

    Read More
  • New Zealand has reopened its borders to international visitors from over 60 visa waiver countries. Arrivals must be fully vaccinated against COVID-19 and meet all other entry requirements. The move is step 4 of New Zealand’s 5-stage reopening plan. The policy aims to fully reopen the country’s borders by late 2022, after more than 2

    Read More
  • Hong Kong is set to reopen its borders to international visitors. The new entry rules will come into effect from May 1, 2022. Overseas travelers have been completely banned from Hong Kong for the last 2 years, with only Hong Kong citizens and residents able to enter. The Hong Kong government announced the easing of

    Read More
  • Singapore has seen a sharp rise in passenger traffic since reopening borders. The number of flights and arrivals have both increased as the country continues to roll back restrictions. Since the beginning of April, international travelers have been able to once again visit Singapore with an SG Arrival Card. The online application currently includes a

    Read More
  • The United States government has announced that the US ESTA will be mandatory for citizens of all Visa Waiver Program (VWP) countries entering the United States by land. This new policy will be introduced on May 2, 2022. From this date, visa-exempt travelers will still be able to enter the US by land without a

    Read More