India Application

India e-Visa Requirements for British Citizens

  • Simplified Application Form
  • Expert Application Review
  • Approved visa or money back

Currently, British citizens are not eligible for India e-Visa. This is a temporary measure that is expected to be removed soon.

The India e-Visa for British citizens is a digital visa that can be obtained online in a matter of minutes. It allows travelers from the United Kingdom to get a visa for the Republic of India without having to go to an embassy.

The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland is among the 170 different countries whose citizens can apply for an India visa online. As long as the traveler holds a valid UK passport, they are able to take advantage of the India e-Visa service.

Since its launch in 2014, the electronic platform has made it quicker and easier for British citizens to get a visa for India.

Visitors from the UK can get an e-Visa for tourism, business, or medical treatment in India.

Does a British Citizen Need a Visa for India?

Yes, in line with India’s visa policy, British citizens must have a valid visa to travel to the country (unless they are also an Indian national).

India has different visas and permits for different reasons, such as tourist visas, medical eVisas and residence permits. UK citizens must apply for the type that suits their needs.

Travelers from England, Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland can obtain Indian visas for a number of purposes exclusively online. The electronic visa (e-Visa) system provides a quick and easy way for Brits to obtain a tourist visa, business visa, or medical visa for India.

For long-term visas and permits, Brits should enquire at one of the Indian diplomatic missions to the UK. These are the High Commission of India in London, one of the Consulate Generals in Birmingham or Edinburgh, or the Honorary Consulate of India in Belfast.

What Is the India e-Visa for UK Citizens?

The India e-Visa for UK nationals is an electronic entry permit. Holders of passports issued by the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland are eligible to apply for an India eVisa exclusively online.

There are 4 different types of Indian e-Visa for British citizens:

  • Tourist e-Visa
  • Business e-Visa
  • e-Medical Patient Visa
  • e-Medical Companion of Patient Visa

Each type of e-Visa for India allows travelers from the UK to visit for a temporary period for a specific reason. They can all be obtained via the online system.

The different Indian e-Visas for Brits have different terms. For example, the length of time visitors from the UK can stay varies depending on the visa type.

India Tourist e-Visa for British citizens

The Indian Tourist e-Visa permits citizens of the UK to take a holiday in India. It allows Brits to take part in tourism and leisure activities. Other activities, such as work and business, are not permitted with the Tourist e-Visa.

The terms of the India Tourist e-Visa for British visitors are as follows:

  • Valid for 1 year from the date it is granted
  • Permits multiple entries for UK passport holders
  • Allows British citizens to stay in India for up to 90 days.

Alternatively, UK citizens who wish to spend less time in India are able to apply for a double-entry tourist e-Visa. It allows a total stay of 30 days in India across 2 entries.

India Business e-Visa for Brits

The Indian Business e-Visa for UK citizens grants entry to India for business-related purposes. British passport holders can attend meetings and conferences, establish new ventures in the country, sign contracts, and recruit staff, among other activities.

The terms of the India Business e-Visa for British citizens are as follows:

  • Valid for 1 calendar year from the date of issue
  • Grants British passport holders multiple visits to India
  • Allows citizens of the UK to remain in India for a maximum of 180 days.

India Medical e-Visas for British passport holders

Indian Medical e-Visas for citizens of the UK come in 2 forms: the e-Medical Patient Visa and the e-Medical Companion of Patient Visa.

The e-Medical Patient Visa allows British citizens to travel to India to receive medical treatment.

The e-Medical Companion of Patient Visa is for those accompanying the patient to India (usually family members or close friends). India issues these medical visas to up to 2 companions per patient.

India Medical e-Visas for Brits have the following conditions:

  • Valid for 120 days from the date of issue
  • UK citizens are allowed to enter India 3 times
  • The second and third visits cannot be more than 60 days after the first
  • Each visit can last for up to 60 days.

How Do I Apply for an Indian e-Visa from the UK?

When applying for an India e-Visa, UK citizens must complete an online questionnaire. This form is simple and easy to fill in. It usually takes a matter of minutes to provide the necessary information.

British citizens must follow these steps to complete their India e-Visa application:

  • Provide basic personal data, passport details, and contact information
  • Attach the necessary supporting documents
  • Pay a small processing fee with a bank card.

It is advisable that travelers also learn about the current visa requirements for British citizens.

Supporting documents for an India e-Visa application for British citizens

Travelers from the UK must provide the following documents to submit their application for an Indian Tourist e-Visa:

  • Valid British passport
  • Digital copy (scan) of the passport’s biographical page
  • Recent passport-style photo of the UK citizen.

British visitors applying for a Business e-Visa for India will need to supply the above documents and a business card with the details of the host company based in India.

Patients from the UK and those traveling with them applying for an India Medical e-Visa must additionally provide a letter from the hospital or medical center where they will receive treatment.

Regardless of the type of e-Visa for India, British applicants must also provide an email address and details of a credit or debit card to cover the processing fee.

Traveling to India from the United Kingdom With the e-Visa

After receiving the approved e-Visa for India, British passport holders can make the journey to the southern Asian country.

Not all ports of entry to India are equipped to process the electronic visa. Therefore, UK citizens with an Indian e-Visa should plan their trip so that they arrive at one of the airports or seaports listed below.

Airports in India that can receive British travelers with an e-Visa include:

  • Ahmedabad
  • Amritsar
  • Bagdogra
  • Bengaluru
  • Calicut
  • Chennai
  • Chandigarh
  • Cochin
  • Coimbatore
  • Delhi
  • Gaya
  • Goa
  • Guwahati
  • Hyderabad
  • Jaipur
  • Kolkata
  • Lucknow
  • Madurai
  • Mangalore
  • Mumbai
  • Nagpur
  • Pune
  • Tiruchirapalli
  • Trivandrum
  • Varanasi
  • Visakhapatnam

UK travelers with an e-Visa can also arrive at the following Indian seaports:

  • Chennai
  • Cochin
  • Goa
  • Mangalore
  • Mumbai.

Complete online application
Confirm Payment
Receive approved Visa
e-Visa Tourist Processing time
1 - 2 days
India government fee
0 to 100 usd
Our service fee
65 to 99 usd
64 to 165 usd
Optional services:
Embassy Registration
Service fee includes
Fast processing timeFast processing time
Application reviewExpert application review
Online supportOnline support 365 days a year
High success rate99% application success rate
Apply Online

Covid Update for India

Last update: 24/11/2022

India has now lifted all COVID-19 entry restrictions. Passengers with a valid India Tourist e-Visa are allowed to enter the country. Consult India’s visa policy to see the entry requirements for each nationality.

Country policy

India Visa Policy


Check the visa policy of India and find out the requirements for every nationality.

Visa requirements checker

United Kingdom