Ethiopia eVisa Online

Select nationality

Ethiopia eVisa Information

The Ethiopia eVisa was introduced in 2017 by the Main Department of Immigration and Nationality Affairs of Ethiopia to  facilitate entry into the country for Touristic purposes.

The eVisa for Ethiopia is a single-entry authorization that allows one entry into the country.  The eVisa is valid for 30 or 90 days, depending on the applicant’s selection during the application.

An approved eVisa allows the traveler to enter Ethiopia via Bole International Airport in Addis Ababa.

Eligible citizens are able to complete the Ethiopia eVisa online application form and follow the simple instructions to get an eVisa for Ethiopia.

Applicants are required to complete the Ethiopia visa application form with basic personal and passport information to receive an approved Ethiopia eVisa via email.

The Ethiopia eVisa is available for a short-term stays for tourism in the country. Those wishing to visit the country for other purposes are required to contact the nearest Ethiopia Embassy or Consulate.

Ethiopia eVisa Requirements

Applicants need the following to submit an Ethiopia Tourist visa online application form:

  • Passport valid for at least 6 months from the intended entry date to Ethiopia
  • Passport image of the biographical page.
  • A passport-style photograph of the applicant
  • Credit or debit card to pay the Ethiopia eVisa fee
  • Current email address to receive the approved the Ethiopia eVisa

More information is available in the Ethiopia eVisa guide in the FAQ section below


Ethiopia Visa FAQ

  • What is the Ethiopia eVisa?

    The Ethiopia eVisa is an online electronic visa authorization which allows eligible citizens to visit Ethiopia for short-term stays for touristic purposes.

  • How long is the Ethiopia eVisa valid for?

    The Ethiopia eVisa validity is indicated on the approved eVisa. The validity might be for 30 or 90 days, depending on the applicant’s selection during the application process.

  • Who can apply for an Ethiopia eVisa?

    Citizens from all eVisa eligible countries can apply for an Ethiopia eVisa, including citizens who reside in the eVisa countries.

  • Who is eligible for an Ethiopia eVisa?

    Applicants are able to check their eligibility for Ethiopia using the visa checker at the top of this page.

    The top visitors traveling to Ethiopia with an eVisa come from the following countries:

    • United States
    • United Kingdom
    • China
    • Germany
    • Italy
    • Kenya
    • India
    • France
    • Saudi Arabia
    • Sudan
    • Nigeria
    • Canada
    • South Africa
  • How long can I stay in Ethiopia?

    The Ethiopia eVisa allows a single-entry stay in Ethiopia for 30 or 90 days. During the application process the applicant can choose the duration of stay desired, either 30 or 90 days.

  • What are the restrictions of Ethiopia eVisa?

    With an approved Tourist Ethiopia eVisa it is illegal to work or study. Holders of an approved Tourist Ethiopia eVisa may only enter Ethiopia through the allowed ports of entry of Bole International Airport in Addis Ababa.

  • Can I apply for an eVisa in Ethiopia?

    Eligible citizens are advised to apply online for an eVisa to Ethiopia and use the eVisa fast track counter upon arrival, which in turn saves the traveler time by avoiding long lines.

    Eligible Citizens may also apply upon arrival to Ethiopia for a visa on arrival. However, this will involve long lines and waiting for the visa on arrival to be processed, at the airport.

  • How do I apply for an Ethiopia eVisa Online?

    To apply for an Ethiopia tourist visa online , eligible citizens are required to complete a simple online application with personal details and passport information.

  • What do I need to submit an application?

    Applicants need the following to submit an Ethiopia Tourist eVisa application form:

    • Passport valid for at least 6 months from the intended entry date to Ethiopia
    • Biographical Passport page
    • Recent travellers’ passport-style photograph
    • A valid debit or credit card to pay the Ethiopia eVisa fee
  • How long will my Ethiopia eVisa take to process?

    The Ethiopia eVisa proccesing time is twenty four (24) hours. However, in some cases Ethiopia eVisa approval may take up to three (3) days.

  • Do I need an Ethiopia eVisa for all my children? Should I include them on my application?

    All eligible citizens, including minors,  are required to apply for an Ethiopia eVisa. The parent or guardian is required to submit a separate application on behalf of their child.

  • What can I do if I make a mistake in my application?

    Applicants are advised to carefully check all the information provided on the Ethiopia eVisa form before submitting the application. If the details on the eVisa do not match the applicant’s passport information, the application may be rejected.

    Should there be a mistake on the application after its submission, applicants are required to complete and submit a new Ethiopia eVisa application form.

  • How much does the Ethiopia Online Visa cost?

    The government of Ethiopia has different processing fees depending on the length of authorized stay. The Ethiopia eVisa application fee is US $52 for a 30-day single entry eVisa and US $72 for a 90-day single entry eVisa.  The visa price is the same for for all nationalities.

  • Is the Ethiopia Online Visa valid for multiple entries?

    No, the Ethiopia eVisa is a single-entry visa.

  • Once granted, can I cancel my eVisa for Ethiopia?

    Once the Ethiopia eVisa has been granted, the applicant will continue to hold an  an approved eVisa for Ethiopia.

  • Do I need travel or health insurance to be granted a Ethiopia eVisa?

    No, medical travel insurance is not an obligatory requirement to apply for the Ethiopia eVisa.

  • How can I check or verify the status of my application?

    Applicants can check visa status for the Ethiopia eVisa on the government website. To perform a validity check, it is necessary to provide the applicant’s passport number and the reference number sent after submitting the application form.

  • Can I extend my eVisa visa while in Ethiopia?

    Yes, eVisa holders can obtain an Ethiopia eVisa extension for up to 30 days once they enter the country. It is necessary to go to the Head Office of the Main Department for Immigration and Nationality Affairs in Addis Ababa in person in order to extend their visa, and pay the additional visa extension fee.

  • How can I renew my eVisa for Ethiopia?

    An Ethiopia eVisa renewal is not possible. Those with an expired eVisa are required to submit a new Ethiopia visa application form in order to return to the country.

Latest Visa News

The coronavirus pandemic of 2019-2020 has had an immense impact on the entire world and may have changed the future of traveling forever. Many countries currently have entry restrictions in place and there is a new focus on health screenings and tests for individuals making their way from state to state. Traveling is discouraged by

Read More

The coronavirus pandemic has led to a large number of travel restrictions. Closed borders, canceled flights, and suspended visas have greatly limited global movement. Many people have been stranded in a foreign country, unable to return home. Individuals in this situation may be worried about what happens when their visa expires. Many governments have put

Read More

The last decade has seen the greatest degree of freedom of global movement in history. Since 2006, the average number of countries that a person can visit without applying for a visa in advance has nearly doubled. However, the coronavirus pandemic has led to mass cancellations of passenger flights, temporary visa suspensions, lockdowns, and closed

Read More