Australia Visa Online Application

Country Information

According to Australian immigration rules and regulations, the majority of foreign nationals need a valid visa or travel authorization to enter the country. There are 2 different types of visa for Australia that can be obtained online. The nationality of the visitor’s passport is the criteria which decides the type of Australia visa or electronic travel authorization that is needed to travel to the country.

Australia ETA Online

Australia eVisitor Visa Online

The Australia Electronic Travel Authority (ETA) is required by citizens of 8 different countries. It permits them to visit Australia for short periods for purposes of tourism or business. The Australia eVisitor visa is required by travelers from a number of European countries, including European Union (EU) member states. It is also valid for short stays as both a tourist visa and a business visa

Australia ETA Online

The Australia ETA or Electronic Travel Authority is a requirement for all travelers from 8 sovereign states who plan to visit the country. It can be obtained by completing an online application form.

The Australian ETA is one of the oldest electronic travel authorizations in the world. The original system was launched as a trial in the late 90s for US and Singaporean travelers, with online applications beginning in the early 00s. The current system was implemented in 2013, allowing applicants to obtain a combined ETA for tourism and business purposes.

Travelers from the United States, Canada, Japan, and Hong Kong are among the nationalities who are eligible to apply for the ETA for Australia.

The ETA for Australia allows unlimited entries during its 12-month period of validity. Each visit allows a maximum stay of up to 3 months in the country for purposes of business or tourism.

Eligible travelers can apply for the Australia ETA by filling in an online form. The traveler must enter their personal details (name, date of birth, nationality, etc.), passport information (number expiry date, etc.), and travel plans.

A current email address must be submitted. The approved Australian ETA will be sent to this account.

The applicant must have a passport with at least 6 months’ validity from the date of arrival in Australia.

Applications for the Australia ETA are generally processed quickly. Some applicants may receive their approved ETA within 24 hours of submitting their application. Processing time can vary depending on the volume of applications, but it rarely takes longer than a few days.

Applicants should take care to ensure that all details are correct on the online form before submitting it. Small errors are the most common cause of delays in the processing of Australia ETA applications.

See below the list of countries whose citizens may apply for the ETA for Australia.

Australia ETA Online: Country list

Australia eVisitor Visa Online

The eVisitor visa for Australia is a mandatory travel requirement for nationals of various European countries who wish to travel to Australia.

The eVisitor was implemented in 2008 as part of a reciprocal travel agreement between Australia and the European Union (EU). Australian citizens are able to visit EU countries visa-free and all nationals of EU member states are able to apply online for an eVisitor for Australia instead of applying for a visa at an embassy.

Citizens of all 27 EU countries are eligible for the Australia eVisitor visa.

In addition, visitors from the other countries in the Schengen Area (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, and Switzerland), European microstates (Andorra, Monaco, San Marino, and Vatican City), and the United Kingdom are also eligible for the Australian eVisitor.

Eligible travelers can apply online for the eVisitor visa for Australia. This involves submitting basic personal details, passport information, and answering some questions relating to security.

The applicant must have a passport that will be valid for a minimum of 6 months from the date of their arrival in Australia.

An email address must be provided in the application so that the approved eVisitor can be delivered to them.

The eVisitor online visa for Australia is electronically connected to the passport registered in the application. If the visitor’s passport is lost, stolen, damaged, or if it is rendered invalid in any way before the trip, they must reapply for the eVisitor with their new passport.

An eVisitor for Australia is valid for 12 months. During this period, the holder may enter the country multiple times. The maximum length of each stay is 90 days.

The eVisitor may be used to visit Australia for tourism or business. Holders may also study or undertake training in the country for no longer than 3 months.

However, it does not grant the holder the right to live or work in Australia or to study for longer than 3 months.

Check the list of nationalities who are eligible for the eVisitor visa for Australia below.

Australia eVisitor Visa Online: Country list

  • Andorra
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Monaco
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Republic of Cyprus
  • Romania
  • San Marino
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • United Kingdom
  • Vatican City

Country policy

Australia Visa Policy


Learn about the visa policy of Australia and find out the travel requirements for visitors of your nationality.

Visa requirements checker

Select nationality

Related News

  • As Christmas fast approaches, many countries around the world continue to limit travel both within their territory and across their borders as they endure the second wave of the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic. People planning to return home for the holidays should be aware of the travel restrictions for Christmas and New Year and plan their

    Read More
  • Before booking a holiday on a cruise liner, travelers should first check the mandatory cruise travel documents they will be required to present at the pier upon boarding the ship. Travel documentation for a cruise holiday will vary depending on the port of departure and destination. In some cases, it will only be necessary to

    Read More
  • Working from home has become more and more common during the coronavirus pandemic. Offices around the world have closed and governments have advised people to social distance and avoid going out if possible. Now, a number of countries around the world are offering people who are working remotely the chance to do their job from

    Read More